When I’m Not Writing About Hot Gay Guys…

If I had to give a fellow noob writer a piece of advice, it would be to read. Read a lot. Mostly, read in the genre you want to be successful in. And don’t just seek out really good writers to read from. Read the “bad” stuff too. Because, even when it’s bad there’s still a story there and you can still learn from it. When you find something good, let it saturate your writer parts and absorb it. I’ve gone on and on about the things that I think are so, so bad in Gay Romance and Gay Erotica but I wanted to share some of the really good. And these are really, really good. Like, they almost make me feel bad for my gleeful attempts at creating the ultimate One-handed Read. Sort of. We all have a purpose in life. Here are some works that I feel are doing great things for the M/M genres and that I’ve learned from. See. I read shit too, guys. And you should definitely add these to your Summer Reading List.

The Awakening by Alp Mortal

Screen Shot 2015-05-27 at 10.43.40 AM

http://amzn.to/1LIuJYe

Heart To Heart by Erin O’Quinn

Screen Shot 2015-05-27 at 10.45.16 AM

http://amzn.to/1BpqD1Z

The Man With The Mandolin by Charles Raines

Screen Shot 2015-05-27 at 10.46.21 AM

http://amzn.to/1HLOK2o

Great Pleasures by Edward Southgate

Screen Shot 2015-05-27 at 10.54.44 AM

http://amzn.to/1JVuRFC

When I’m Not Writing About Hot Gay Guys…

One thought on “When I’m Not Writing About Hot Gay Guys…

  1. Thanks for the shoutout, dear Bawdy.

    I love this tack you are taking, your advice to newbies: read the worthwhile stuff before you go off half-cocked (um, as it were) and think you know a thing or two. I don’t know the background of the others you’ve singled out here. But I had to write one whole hell of a lot before I wrote Heart to Hart. I’ve written quite a few since … and I’ve learned more with each writing. My affair with words is definitely a “work in progress,” in every way.

    I appreciate your praise and hope to earn it. Wishing you success every step of the way! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

